My New Hobbies

1498427246010Well some are new, but a few I’ve been doing for a while now. I love working with my hands so much, I really don’t think there is anything quite as fulfilling.

I’ve been teaching myself how to cook since I was 17, although I only stuck to foods I knew I liked. Now that my taste buds have matured it’s time to try things that normally I’d turn away from. It is boring cooking the same set of meals every two weeks. Vegetables are going to be my biggest challenge. I only really like potatoes, peppers, onions, corn, zucchini, & lettuce. There are more that I can tolerate though, like asparagus, broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, and cucumbers. Apparently some of those are actually fruits, but I grew up thinking they were all vegetables (sigh, simpler times). When I first starting cooking and baking I was 17 and I thought my dream would be to work in a bakery or restaurant. That quickly changed after working in several fast food places. Honestly with how picky I am it probably would have been a terrible idea. I don’t know, can picky eaters become successful chefs? When we move into our new home we are going to attempt freezer meal planning. It would be nice to come home from a busy day and have dinner ready in a crockpot waiting for us. Pretty sure we are going to need a cheap deep freezer.

Cheap RCA Deep Freezer from amazon.

Another new thing I want to make time for is sewing. Since I was 12, drawing up new clothing has been a love of mine. Now it is time to try to get those ideas off of the paper into reality. I’m still browsing for easy beginner projects, but I’d appreciate any suggestions. My Mommom actually taught me how to sew when I was 9, it has just been a really long time since I’ve been at a sewing machine. Even if it’s something that I can only can work on for 30 minutes a day I would be happy to do it again.

Besides that I have been enjoying writing this blog. It really gives me an outlet for the chaos going through my head. This fall I will be back in school and possibly working part-time from home. That’s if I can actually find a job to do from home. Unfortunately phone calls are off limits because I have a 7 month old little girl. I have been searching relentlessly for a work from home job that will help us get through this tight spot we are in. Anything where I don’t have to leave my daughter with a stranger for hours would make me happy. Sometimes I wish that things were like the past more. Back when one person would be able to support a family easier. It just seems nearly impossible nowadays. I don’t really have a desire to be rich, just comfortable and happy. It would be nice if my daughter is able to have a better childhood than I did. Not saying that physical objects make it better, just that I don’t want her to be affected by the stress my boyfriend and I are carrying right now.

Leave a Reply

